Heroku Charging Taxes to US Customers


In order to become tax compliant, Heroku is charging taxes to customers in 18 U.S. states starting August 1, 2019. The 18 states affected are:

  1. Arizona
  2. Connecticut
  3. District of Columbia
  4. Hawaii
  5. Iowa
  6. Massachusettes
  7. New Mexico
  8. New York
  9. Ohio
  10. Pennsylvania
  11. Rhode Island
  12. South Carolina
  13. South Dakota
  14. Tennessee
  15. Texas
  16. Utah
  17. Washington
  18. West Virginia

Taxes are based on the billing address entered during credit card verification. Taxes will appear on both personal and team accounts whose address is listed in one of those 18 states.

Additional states will be added as Heroku continues to become tax compliant.


If you are a non-profit or otherwise a tax exempt entity, you must provide proof of tax exemption to the Heroku Billing team. Please submit the certificate as an attachment to a Heroku Support ticket. Please note, only account owners or team admins can submit tax exempt certificates.

Ask on Stack Overflow

Engage with a community of passionate experts to get the answers you need

Ask on Stack Overflow

Heroku Support

Create a support ticket and our support experts will get back to you

Contact Heroku Support
Terms of Service Privacy Cookies © 2019 Salesforce.com