What US states are charged tax for SaaS services by Heroku?


You'd like to learn more about the taxation of Heroku services and what states are subject to taxation for services rendered.


In order to become tax compliant, Heroku is charging taxes to customers in 18 U.S. states starting August 1, 2019. The 18 states affected are:

  1. Arizona
  2. Connecticut
  3. District of Columbia
  4. Hawaii
  5. Iowa
  6. Massachusetts
  7. New Mexico
  8. New York
  9. Ohio
  10. Pennsylvania
  11. Rhode Island
  12. South Carolina
  13. South Dakota
  14. Tennessee
  15. Texas
  16. Utah
  17. Washington
  18. West Virginia

Additional states will be added as Heroku continues to become tax compliant.

Taxable locale

Taxes are based on the billing address entered during credit card verification. Taxes will appear on both Personal and Heroku Teams whose address is listed in one of those 18 states.

Heroku is happy to comply with sales tax exemption requests from eligible organizations. To be given sales tax exemption, a Heroku Team admin, account owner or Personal account holder must submit your organization's state tax exemption form as an attachment to a Heroku support ticket.

Processing time

We cannot accept Federal (IRS) tax exemption forms; only the state form will be used for sales tax exemption. Once the request has been received, please allow 10-12 business days for processing.

Ask on Stack Overflow

Engage with a community of passionate experts to get the answers you need

Ask on Stack Overflow

Heroku Support

Create a support ticket and our support experts will get back to you

Contact Heroku Support
Terms of Service Privacy Cookies © 2021 Salesforce.com